There are two papers in the subject. Paper I (Theory) is of 2 hours duration carrying 100 marks. The paper is divided into four sections as follows:

  1. Section I: 40 marks
  2. Section II: 20 marks
  3. Section III: 20 marks
  4. Section IV: 20 marks

Section I is compulsory. Candidates are required to attempt all the questions from this section. There is no choice of questions.

Sections II, III and IV have a choice of questions. Candidates are required to attempt two questions from each section. 

Section I

This section will deal with some of the important systems and aspects of the human body. Candidates should write brief notes, explain and illustrate their answers.

1. The Human Skeleton

(i) The structure and function of the human skeleton, the tendons, ligaments and joints.
(ii) The spine and spinal vertebrae.
(iii) The importance of correct posture.

2. The Important Muscles

(i) Identifying important muscles, muscle tissue.
(ii) How muscles are attached, their role in movement.
(iii) The role yoga plays in maintaining muscular health.

3. The Respiratory System

(i) The structure and functions of the lungs and trachea.
(ii) The role of the diaphragm, intercostal muscles, ribs and the sternum in breathing.
(iii) How yoga cultures the breath and improves respiration.

4. The Digestive System

(i) The structure and function of the digestive organs.
(ii) The process whereby food is assimilated and transformed into energy and body tissue.
(iii) An introduction to the concepts of Sattva, Rajas and Tamas as applied to food.

5. Yoga Therapy

A brief introduction to the benefits of yoga asana practice as a means of removing discomfort and pain and restoring human health.

Section II

In this section, candidates are expected to know about the lives and teachings of the following:

  1. Valmiki
  2. Vashishta
  3. Vishvamitra
  4. Kabir
  5. Mirabai
  6. Tukaram

Section III

The Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali

Candidates are to write notes with suitable examples on the following:

1. Patanjali

(i) His contributions to Yoga.
(ii) Ashtanga Yoga as defined in the Yoga Sutras.

2. The Five Yamas

Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmcharya, Aparigraha.

3. The Five Niyamas

Saucha, Santosha, Tapas, Svadhyaya, Ishwar Pranidhana.

4. Asanas

Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

Section IV

Basic concepts of Yoga and some important slokas - The definition of Yoga, Guru and Shishya, the four Purushartha's, the four Ashramas, the four Margs - Jnana, Karma, Bhakti, Yoga Sadhana - Bahiranga, Antaranga, Antaratma.

The following three slokas should be known with their meaning:

Patanjali Yoga Sutra II 29 II 30 II 32