ICSE History & Civics Class 10 Semester-1 Syllabus 2022

Semester 1 is of 40 marks. Civics consists of one unit: The Union Legislature. History consists of two units: The Indian National Movement (1857 - 1917), Mass Phase of the National Movement (1915 - 1947).

Section A: Civics

1. The Union Legislature

Meaning of the federal setup in India.

(i) Lok Sabha - term, composition, qualifications for membership. Parliamentary procedures: a brief idea of sessions, quorum, question hour, adjournment and no-confidence motion. Speaker - election.

(ii) Rajya Sabha - composition, qualification for membership, election, term, Presiding Officer.

Powers and functions of Union Parliament - (legislative, financial and control over the executive). Exclusive powers of the two Houses.

Section B: History

1. The Indian National Movement (1857 - 1917)

(a) The First War of Independence, 1857

Only the causes (political, socio-religious, economic and military) and consequences will be tested. The events, however need to be mentioned in order to maintain continuity and for a more comprehensive understanding.

(b) Factors leading to the growth of Nationalism - socio-religious reform movements (brief mention of contribution of Raja Rammohan Roy and Jyotiba Phule) and role of the Press.

Indian National Congress - Immediate objectives of the Indian National Congress - the first two sessions and their Presidents should be mentioned.

(c) First Phase of the Indian National Movement (1885-1907)

Objectives and methods of struggle of the Early Nationalists. Any two contributions of Dadabhai Naoroji, Surendranath Banerjee and Gopal Krishna Gokhale.

(d) Second Phase of the Indian National Movement (1905-1916)

Brief mention of the causes of the Partition of Bengal and its perspective by the Nationalists. Objectives and methods of struggle of the Radicals. Any two contributions of Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Bipin Chandra Pal and Lala Lajpat Rai. The Muslim League and its objectives.

2. Mass Phase of the National Movement (1915 - 1947)

(a) Mahatma Gandhi

Non-Cooperation Movement: causes (Khilafat Movement, Rowlatt Act, Jallianwala Bagh tragedy), programme and suspension - Chauri Chaura incident, and impact of the Movement;

Civil Disobedience Movement: causes (Reaction to the Simon Commission, Declaration of Poorna Swaraj at the Lahore Session of 1929), Dandi March, programme and impact of the Movement, Gandhi-Irwin Pact and the Second Round Table Conference;

Quit India Movement: causes (failure of Cripps Mission, Japanese threat), Quit India Resolution and the significance of the Movement.

(b) Forward Bloc (objectives) and INA (objectives and contribution of Subhas Chandra Bose).

(c) Independence and Partition of India - Mountbatten Plan (clauses and its acceptance) and the Indian Independence Act of 1947 (clauses only).